Menu OpenMenu Close
Louise Line Sign-Up
Email Louise
Facebook icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon
Font Size DownDefault Font SizeFont Size Up

Congresswoman Louise Slaughter

Representing the 25th District of New York

What Louise Does

What Louise Does

As a member of the U.S. House of Representatives, Congresswoman Louise Slaughter represents the people of Rochester and Monroe County in Congress by introducing, amending, and voting on legislation; serving on committees and caucuses; and helping constituents work with federal agencies.

Congresswoman Slaughter serves as the ranking member of the influential House Committee on Rules. Nearly every major piece of legislation must first pass through the committee, which has the authority to decide if, when, and how a bill will be debated and amended on the House Floor.  The Rules Committee also has the authority to grant waivers to legislation and amendments that otherwise might not be considered by the full House. Congresswoman Slaughter was the first woman to serve as chair of this committee.

When not working in Washington, Congresswoman Slaughter returns to Rochester to meet with constituents, local stakeholders, organizations, and local officials, as well as attend local events.


About Congress

Congresswoman Slaughter speaks to students

The government of the United States is composed of three separate branches: the legislative, the judicial, and the executive. The legislative branch is made up of the House of Representatives and the Senate, together known as the Congress. The Congress is responsible for making laws, regulating both interstate and foreign trade, declaring war, and controlling the government’s spending and taxing policy.

There are 435 members in the House of Representatives, each representing approximately 700,000 constituents. Members primarily represent their districts in Congress by writing, amending, debating, and passing legislation. When both chambers of Congress pass a bill, it is sent to the executive branch where it can be signed into law by the president. Members of Congress additionally represent their district by serving on committees and caucuses. Committees consider bills, hold hearings, and oversee agencies, while caucuses allow lawmakers to focus and work on specific legislative objectives.