Menu OpenMenu Close
Louise Line Sign-Up
Email Louise
Facebook icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon
Font Size DownDefault Font SizeFont Size Up

Congresswoman Louise Slaughter

Representing the 25th District of New York

Slaughter Announces 2017 Congressional Arts Competition

April 11, 2017
Press Release
Submissions are now being accepted at the Memorial Art Gallery

Rochester, NY – Congresswoman Louise Slaughter, co-chair of the bipartisan Congressional Arts Caucus, announced today that works of art are now being accepted for the 2017 Congressional Arts Competition. High school students who reside in or attend school in New York 25 are encouraged to submit their artwork to the Memorial Art Gallery by April 29, 2017. The winning student’s artwork will be displayed for one year in the U.S. Capitol.

“I am always impressed by the skill and talent showcased every year in the artwork submitted by students across Western New York. I encourage all students to consider submitting their work of art for this competition. It is an incredible opportunity to have your work showcased in the halls of Congress,” said Slaughter.

The exhibition will feature exceptional artwork from congressional districts across the nation. All entries must be an original in concept, design, and execution. Artwork categories are as follows:

  • Paintings: oil, acrylics, watercolor, etc.
  • Drawings: pastels, colored pencil, pencil, charcoal, ink, markers
  • Collage: must be two dimensional
  • Prints: lithographs, silkscreen, block prints
  • Mixed Media: use of more than two mediums such as pencil, ink, etc.
  • Computer generated art
  • Photography

For the official rules, please visit the competition’s website. More information can also be found here or by calling Slaughter’s Rochester office at (585) 232-4850. To find out if you live or study in the 25th district, click here.

Slaughter has been a long-time champion of the arts and serves as co-chair of the Congressional Arts Caucus, a bipartisan organization made up of over 170 members of Congress who support the arts through federal initiatives.